Illinois Central College Seeks Nominations for 2022 Alumnus Awards

The Illinois Central College Educational Foundation is requesting nominations from the community for its two alumni awards – the Distinguished Alumnus and Alumnus of the Last Decade awards. The awards are presented in October as part of the college’s Community Celebration event, held annually to recognize and celebrate ICC scholarship recipients, their donors, and community partners.

The Distinguished Alumnus award recognizes former students who have achieved success in their chosen field while providing humanitarian services to benefit society. The Alumnus of the Last Decade award recognizes outstanding ICC alumnus who, over the last decade, have amazing achievements in their career field, commitment to improving the education district, and outstanding service to our community.

“The awards honor ICC alumni who have achieved exceptional success since their time at ICC. They also recognize their humanitarian service and demonstrated support for higher education and Illinois Central College,” said ICC President Dr. Sheila Quirk-Bailey. “These awards allow us to celebrate the many inspirational alumni who serve as examples of how ICC changes lives. I look forward to celebrating the next alumni to be added to these exceptional representatives of Illinois Central College.”

The 2021 ICC Distinguished Alumnus award was presented to Sean Arians. Arians attended ICC from 2000 to 2002. In May 2002, he received his Associate in Applied Science Degree in Agricultural Business Management. Arians was a member of the ICC Agricultural Advisory Council from 2014 to 2016 and served as Chairman of the committee in 2016. His expertise in precision agricultural technology led him to spearhead a redesign of the ICC Agricultural Applied Science curriculum. Additional past winners of the Distinguished Alumnus award include Ronald Givens and Rachel Reliford.

The 2021 ICC Alumnus of the Last Decade award was presented to Brent Baker. Baker earned his ICC Associate in Arts and Science Degree in July 2011. His work as Director of Workforce Solutions for the Greater Peoria Economic Development Council (GPEDC) helped create a synergy between the region’s workforce development institutions and employers. This included shaping career pathways from Peoria Public Schools through ICC and into high-demand career opportunities. Past winners of the Alumnus of the Last Decade award include Matthew Goodyear, Micheline “Michy” Maloof, and Christine Bare-Kemper.

Nominations are due by Thursday, March 31, 2022. To submit nominations and for more information, please visit