Faculty & Staff

Blackboard Collaborate

Blackboard Collaborate is a real-time video conferencing tool that lets you add files, share applications, and use a virtual whiteboard to interact.

There are currently two versions of Collaborate available: Original Experience and Ultra Experience. Ultra uses a completely web-based interface (works natively in your browser), while the Original requires you to install Java.

For a more complete breakdown of Blackboard Collaborate and its features, check out the official Blackboard Help Page

Collaborate: Original Experience

Quick Guides

Configuration Room

Use this configuration room in advance of a live online Collaborate session to ensure that the computer you are using will successfully access and run the Blackboard Collaborate environment.

Questions?
With your web camera, speakers/headset and microphone attached to your computer, enter the configuration room and follow the instructions.  If you can successfully run the configuration room, you should be able to successfully participate in a live Blackboard Collaborate session.

Collaborate: Ultra Experience

Quick Guides

Signing in as Moderator and Scheduling a Session

At ICC, Blackboard Collaborate Ultra is a separate service from our Blackboard Learn environment. In order to use Blackboard Collaborate, ICC Faculty or Staff members can contact the Teaching and Learning Center to make the arrangements – you will need to be given a moderator account username and password.

Moderators for Blackboard Collaborate Ultra can sign in here:

Once signed in, you can schedule a Blackboard Collaborate Ultra session by following the instructions provided in these help materials:

When you have created your new session, a Guest Link will be generated. Email the guest link to your participants, or embed it into your Blackboard site. Anyone who clicks the link will be able to access the Blackboard Collaborate Ultra session.

Application Share Feature Requires Google Chrome

The Application Share feature allows the presenter to broadcast other applications or their entire computer desktop to the session participants.

At the present time, in order to use the Application Share feature, you will need to use the Google Chrome browser. When the presenter attempts to use Application Share for the first time, they will be prompted to install the Chrome “Desktop Sharing” extension. Participants can view what is being shared using other browsers, but the presenter will need to use Google Chrome if they wish to use the Application Share feature.

Switching Between Ultra and Original

When signed into the Collaborate Ultra Scheduler (at us.bbcollab.com), you will find a “Back to original experience” link in the bottom left corner of the page that you can use to switch over to the original version of Blackboard Collaborate. ¬†Likewise, when signed into the moderator controls for the original version (at sas.eluminate.com) you will find a “Back to Collaborate Ultra experience” link at the bottom of the page.