Faculty & Staff

Understanding Accreditation

Educational accreditation is a process of external quality review created and used by higher education to scrutinize colleges, universities and programs for quality assurance and quality improvement. Accreditation in the United States is more than 100 years old, emerging from concerns to protect public health and safety and to serve the public interest.

In the United States, accreditation is carried out by private, nonprofit organizations designed for this specific purpose. External quality review of higher education is a nongovernmental enterprise.

There are two types of educational accreditation: institutional and specialized.

Regional (Institutional) Accreditation

Institutional accreditation is provided by regional and national associations of schools and colleges. There are six regional institutional accreditors in the United States (Middle States, New England, Northwest, Southern, Western, and Higher Learning Commission). The regional associations are independent of one another, but they cooperate extensively and acknowledge one another’s accreditation. Several national associations focus on particular kinds of institutions (for example, trade and technical colleges, and religious colleges and universities). An institutional accrediting agency evaluates an entire educational organization in terms of its mission and the agency’s standards or criteria.

As an institution, Illinois Central College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, which accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the north central region of the United States (www.ncahlc.org).

Specialized (Programmatic) Accreditation

Programmatic accreditors review specific programs, professions and freestanding schools of law, medicine, engineering, etc. Several ICC programs have sought and received specialized (program) accreditation/approval. These include the following.

ICC Program
Accrediting Agency
Accreditation Status and Contact
Automotive Technology
Automotive Service Excellence (ASE)
January 2025
Program Director: Todd Fortier
Caterpillar Dealer Service Technology (CATTK)
Association of Leaders in Equipment Distribution Foundation (AED)
March 20, 2023
Program Director: Mark Matthews
Culinary Arts Management
American Culinary Federation Educational Foundation (ACFEF)
December 3, 2026
Program Director: Charles Robertson
Dental Hygienist
Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA)
Fall 2021
Program Director: Cathleen Korondi
Drug and Alcohol Counselor Trainings (DACT)
Illinois Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Professional Certification Association, Inc. (IAODAPCA)
September 1, 2021
Program Director: Dan Kelts
Emergency Medical Technician and Paramedic programs
Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP)
Program Director: Mike Dant
General Motor Automotive Service Educational Program (GM-ASEP)
Automotive Service Excellence (ASE)
January 1, 2025
Program Director: Trevor Imm
Horticulture programs (multiple)
National Association of Landscape Professionals (NALP)
December 31, 2021
Program Director: Corinne Brown
Licensed Practical Nurse
Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN)
Spring 2028
Associate Dean: Mischelle Monagle
Medical Assistant
Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP)
Fall 2028
Program Director: Cydney Condit
Medical Laboratory Technician
National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS)
October 31, 2020
Program Director: Vince Strow
Music (Associate in Arts)
National Association of Schools of Music (NASM)
Deferred by NASM until November 2021
Program Director: Julie Clemens
Occupational Therapy Assistant
Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE)
June 2028
Program Director: Jennifer Haines
Paralegal (AAS & Certificate)
American Bar Association Standing Committee on Paralegals Approval Commission (ABA)
Coordinator: Peggy Crane
Physical Therapy Assistant
Commission for Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE)
June 30, 2026
Program Director: Julie Feeny
Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JCERT)
Fall 2025
Program Director: April Tatham
Registered Nurse
Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN)
Spring 2028
Associate Dean: Mischelle Monagle
Respiratory Therapist
Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care (CoARC)
Spring 2026
Program Director: Mary Beth Cregger
Surgical Technologist
Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) in cooperation with the Accreditation Review Council on Education in Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting (ARC-STSA)
Program Director: Bill Hammer