Volleyball Season Ends at District Championship, 5 Named to All Region Selections

In the District K title match Saturday, Nov. 3, Illinois Central College volleyball came up short and the season ended after a three-set loss to Lincoln Land Community College, 18-25, 16-25, 20-25.

LLCC advanced to the National Championship tournament with the win.

“I’m Very proud of the five athletes being recognized for their season performance,” head coach Sue Sinclair said.

ICC was able to add five players to the All Region selections:

First Team — Mary O’Brien, Courtney Oeder

Second Team — Jessica Norris, Samantha Garcia

Honorable Mention — Maddie McCunn

Leaders against Lincoln Land

Kills — O’Brien 12

Digs — O’Brien 13

Blocks — Pratt 2

Assists — McCunn 21

Aces — McCunn 1, Oeder 1

The loss came after ICC opened postseason action with a 3-1 win over Southwestern Illinois at the CougarPlex Oct. 31.

Leaders against Southwestern Illinois

Aces — Oeder 5

Blocks — Norris 4, Beaver 3

Assists — McCunn 18, Peterson 18

Digs — Garcia 22, McCunn 14, O’Brien 13

Kills — O’Brien 15, Oeder 10

ICC closed out the season 21-20 overall, breaking even in home matches at 7-7.

“Not exactly the ending we hoped for, but I enjoyed this group of young ladies immensely. They are great people, who are going to do great things in this world.”

Leaders for the season

On the offensive attacks, sophomore Mary O’Brien lead the Lady Cougars with 455 kills on the season, followed by sophomores Courtney Oeder with 314 and Jessica Norris at 254.

Freshman Maddie McCunn supported the offense with 722 assists, followed by sophomore Haley Peterson with 475. Freshman Addison Pals marked 177 assists for the season.

Protecting the back court was sophomore libero Samantha Garcia with 630 digs and O’Brien not too far behind with 546. Oeder was in for the save for 362 digs on the season.

At the net, Norris lead ICC with 134 total blocks, 13 of which were solo. O’Brien got in the air for 80 total blocks and Oeder put back 78.

In all, ICC will have eight sophomores move on: Jackie Beaver, Oeder, Garcia, Maddie Malinowski, Norris, O’Brien, Peterson and Amanda Pratt.